Power-Leveling Through Suicide

A friend recently asked me to explain the mechanics of power-leveling through using a pet with a suicide move (like “Explode”), and I’m happy to oblige!  See, at present, any pet alive at the end of the battle gets a slice of the XP pie – including Level 25 pets, who do not benefit from the XP.  The goal is to get the max amount of XP to a lowbie pet.  There’s some talk about the XP being split to Level 25 pets being something of a bug, but until there are changes implemented, my process follows below.

Originally, it was just me and Harikari, my Mechanical Pandaren Dragonling.  He has a the following two spells that are vital for power leveling:

  1. DecoyCreates a wooden decoy that protects your team from two attacks.  This humorous prop is great for staving off damage while you work the enemy down to the HP where you’ll be ready to use…
  2. ExplodeInstantly kills the caster, dealing damage equal to +-40% of the user’s total health to the current enemy.  This is the move that kills your Dragonling (or other Explode-able pet), also hopefully taking the enemy out, leaving your lowbie pet with the high cut of XP.

I’ll now walk you through the evolution of my process.  Originally, I’d put the lowbie (Level 4 or higher) in the pole position – leave them in for one round and then pull them back.  Then I’d bring out a regular pet – like the Terrible Turnip – and start whacking on the first pets.  When I got close to the end of the match, I’d let the Turnip take enough damage from the enemy to die (usually using “Pass”).  Hopefully I’d be close enough so that Harikari could then pop Explode and everything would be done with.  At some point I learned that the lowbie pet never even had to be put in for a round – he just needed to be the only one left alive at the end to get all the XP, so that changed my process a little and I usually don’t put the lowbie pet in for play at all, keeping him in the third pet slot.

The problem with having just the one Explode pet is that sometimes those Explodes are *ugh* DODGED.  There’s nothing worse than working all the way through to have your suicide be dodged.  How insulting!  It doesn’t happen all the time, but when it does it can ruin the last three rounds of play.  It’s less than likely that your lowbie will be able to pull out the win at that point (though not impossible, from experience).  In order to mitigate the risk of this, I decided to add another Explode pet into my arsenal – the entertaining Darkmoon Zeppelin, in my case.  “Hindy” has the same Decoy and Explode skills, and his Missile spell is quite amusing to watch.

I’ve embedded a couple videos below that take you through the battles.  These are low-level fights, and thus are relatively short.  But they’re dailies, and still award a sizeable amount of XP.  You’ll note the slightly different tactic for undead pets, as they come back from the dead for one round.

I highly suggesting clicking the link at the top of the movie screen and viewing it in the slightly larger mode.  My apologies on the poor quality – could not figure out how to get it loaded to YouTube in higher quality.

Posted on December 12, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

